How to get a Snow Day

White Crayon
Image by valianceKG via Flickr

This morning, I opened my freezer and found a white crayon.

According to my 6th grader, there’s some magic to getting a snow day.

First, flush ice cubes down the toilet.

Second, put your pajamas on inside out.

Third, lick a spoon and put it under your pillow.Β  And finally . . .

Put a white crayon in your freezer.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 responses to “How to get a Snow Day

  1. Last night before Grace went to bed, she shook her homemade snowglobe she made over 4 years ago in PK. As she shook it, she repeated the saying they always said. I wish it would snow. I wish it would snow. I wish snow today so we can go outside and play! Guess what? It worked too. πŸ™‚

  2. LOL! I won’t reveal the source of that recipe for a snow day either, but I think there is something to be said about the fact that snow days are somewhat magical for kids and that middle schoolers, while they may act very differetnly at times, are ultimately kids at heart with huge, wild imaginations.

    While snow days can be magical for kids, they are not as much fun for soon-to-be 31 year old adult men (e.g. me). I have to unbury our driveway while Hope, Grace and Jeni enjoy the warmth of the house and wave to me from the window.

    Happy holidays everyone.

  3. JP and Lizzy slept with 3 spoons under their pillows. And they went outside at 10:15 and have not been home since. Sledding, snowshoeing etc. maybe some food at the neighbors. I remember walking down to your house and sledding down the driveway.

  4. We don’t get a lot of snow here in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area but will have to try this πŸ˜‰

  5. what if you dont have a white croyn

Leave a Reply

